Books to read if you like having your still beating heart ripped out of your chest (and why)

So if you’re like me you like reading books that leave you feeling a powerful emotion when their finished. You know it’s a good book if after you read it, you need some serious TIME.


I have a few that I think you should read. They left me truly CRIPPLED.

So the first is kind of a cliche. Gone with the Wind. Now, don’t you DARE skip this one. Ok??! Don’t! It is perfect.

Let me lay a little wisdom upon you.

I had be told to read this book FOR-EV-ER. And I said NAY I will NOT be lumped into a literary stereotype of a romance obsessed basic bitch!! (Even though I am so painfully basic…). Boy was I WRONG.

This book is very much not about romance. Yes its present and you get swept up in it, but there is SO much more going on. It’s raw and imperfect and the main character is incredibly flawed and cold but you love to hate her and you get her but she makes some crazy choices it’s just BRAGH!!!! You are left with a feeling that life will never be the same after this book.

“Child, it’s a very bad thing for a woman to face the worst that can happen to her, because after she’s faced the worst she can’t ever really fear anything again. …always save something to fear- even as you save something to love…”

I mean COME ON.

It was a long read and as a mother I acknowledged that I would never be able to finish it. So I bought the audio book and I would listen to it on my commute to work (back when I had a 45 min commute).

Took me a while, but if you can acknowledge that this is just not something you are going to be able to sit down and go cover to cover there is NO SHAME in the audio book game!

Next, Me Before You (or as my husband calls it “you before me before she before I”). It’s sweet and beautiful, but the gem is not that book. The gem is its sequel After You.

From the first chapter you are left with a gut dropping sensation that you can ONLY feel if you’ve read the first book. And the movie DOES NOT count, although it is a GREAT movie!

“…an almost umbilical pull towards home, the comfort offered by a conventional family and a traditional Sunday lunch.”

-After you, JoJo Moyes


This quote hit me right in the feels because I can indenting with that so strongly. Sometimes I just want to go home to my moms for our Sunday pilgrimage to Casa Lupe deli where we buy Carnita meat, fresh warm tortillas, Casa Lupe salsa and go home and eat the entire thing. The familiar is so comforting when things go awry.

NEXT is The Lovely Bones. It’s a difficult read, it left me with a pit in my stomach.

Without spoiling anything, it delves into child abduction and the horrors that come with it. The beginning is just gut wrenching, but you have to push through and read the entire thing.

“Horror on earth is real and it is everyday. It is like a flower or like the sun; it cannot be contained.”

I cried a lot in this book. Like…a lot. Ugly cried. Sobbed into my pillow swollen eyes kind of cried. And it was worth it. Watching the movie isn’t good enough it’s a different kind of story when you read it.

It made me hug my kids a little extra that’s for sure.

I seem to have an embarrassing theme of reading books that have movies attached to them, but I can say honestly I strongly encourage everyone who’s seen the movie to watch The Silver Linings Playbook.

They are entirely different stories. The movie is good in its own right, but the only relation is the idea of mental illness. It’s remarkable the creative license they took in the making of that movie. Absolutely baffled me.


“When life reaches out at a moment like this it’s a sin if you don’t reach back, I’m telling you its a sin if you don’t reach back! It’ll haunt you the rest of your days like a curse.”

The book is good but I connected to it in a deeper way because it relates back to my life. My biological father is eerily similar to the main character and it was a good reminder that all you can do for some people is love them, and that’s it.

Another great impactful read is Wild. I love that book! The movie, again, is good in its own right but the book is just SO much better (are there many cases that the book was worse than the movie?).


My favorite quote hands down:

“The universe, I’d learned, was never, ever kidding. It would take whatever it wanted and it would never give it back.”

Who CANT relate to that? That is the very foundation of this book.

It’s definitely something that will make you consider yourself. Consider what and who you are and what that will mean in your future.

It’s just a good read. I imagine the perfect way to read this is in a hammock by a lake. It should definitely be read during a camping trip.

And disclaimer: it will make you want to hike/do the PCT. I mean that’s GOING to happen.

And if you’re looking for a easy breezy read full of feels, there ain’t NOTHING wrong with The lightkeepers daughter.

I read it the first time when I was about 14, so it’s an easy read. But it’s definitely not something I would consider “young adult” it delves deeper and really has something for all ages.

There is no one reason why this is my favorite book, but it just is. Maybe it’s because the first time I got this book it was from the Yuba City library with my Grandma Thelma. I remember reading it in her backyard on the grass and being engrossed in it and feeling totally carefree.


Maybe because it isn’t this supposed “literary masterpiece” where people have to dissect it and pull it apart to find the “true meanings”. It’s JUST a good book. Sometimes we need those.

I feel like I have lived a lifetime on Lizzie Island and whenever I read the book it’s a friendly visit to a place I know very well.

Unfortunately I don’t own this book so I don’t have a quote. I didn’t realize that until now, but when I bought it as an adult I bought the e-book on my nook which I have since abandoned for a kindle fire. Realizing this terrible mistake, I am buying the book IMMEDIATELY and am making it my new life’s mission to have it signed by the author!


So these are my suggestions. If you want to throw some back at me please do! I plan on picking up “The light between oceans” for my next read, but I’m always looking for a “next read”!

Also, look at what my coworker bought me ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’› one of these, some coffee, the light keepers daughter and an ocean view and I’d be SET!

4 thoughts on “Books to read if you like having your still beating heart ripped out of your chest (and why)

  1. Great suggestions – I LOVE Me Before You so much though my heart definitely hurt after reading. I met JoJo Moyes once, and she is just precious. Maybe I need to be brave and read Gone With the Wind??

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s